As I sit here knowing that I will leave Lausanne tomorrow, I do not feel ready to write about the year.  I don’t feel ready to sum up successes, to say what I wish I had done differently, to say what I’ve learned, or to say what exactly will come next from my research.  These things will come later.

I do want to take the opportunity to thank everyone who made my Fulbright year an amazing success, both personally and research-wise.  There are too many of you to name- friends, fellow Fulbrighters, government officials, Jewish community members, survivors, academics, scholars, historians, rabbis, researchers, teachers, mentors.  I want to thank all of the people who I’ve met this past year, in all different places and at different stages in my research, for supporting me directly and indirectly.  Thank you for connecting me to other people, places, and information, and for helping me so much.  I could not have completed my work this far and in such a focused way without you.  I know I will continue with this subject, as there is a lot more to be done, and hope to have some “results” to show soon!

More posts and photos after I return to the US tomorrow, June 28, 2012.

