Hi Everyone!

I know I haven’t posted as much as I would like, but here’s some new stuff from this week:

1. I posted a “searching for” request to a listserv of survivors and their families, and in one day I received 50 responses! Not all of them were exactly what I needed, but I did find 10 more child survivors to interview, and a lot of articles, books, memoirs, etc, are being sent my way! The internet is an AMAZING resource!

2. Went to the Chestnut Festival in Valais with another Fulbrighter from Lausanne. There are 17,000 acres of chestnut fields, and during the fall they are open to anyone to pick chestnuts. We hiked up into part of the field and got some amazing photos. Check them out on Facebook!

3. The Fulbrighters were invited to a reception with the U.S. Ambassador in Bern, on Tuesday night. Most of the 11 of us were there, and it was great to meet everyone! We are a pretty cool bunch, if I can say so myself.

4. I was asked to put together a presentation, including some of my videos, to present my research findings at the U.S. Embassy at the end of the year! It will be an awesome event.

5. Making friends with more international students, expanding the network. Especially friends from France, Germany, Italy, Serbia, and Tunisia. Oh, and Suisse Allemande.

6. Met with the most wonderful Serge Klarsfeld today. Received some books from him, and a lot of VERY useful advice.

7. More meetings in Paris to follow: Georges Loinger, Lili Garel, Annette Davis, Katy Hazan.

8. Working at the CDJC archives in Paris next week.

9. Getting focused and grounded. Including printing photos of people who inspire me…and posting them on my wall.

10. Visitors soon! Jackie, mom, Ben, Stephanie, and seeing Janice in Amsterdam staying in the smallest room ever.

10 bis. I got to dance with an amazing tapper on Saturday night, and a brilliant piano player, Jean Yves, who is blind! I got to sit in the sound booth with the theater owners because the seats were full. It was overall a really cool night.

More photos and updates to come! Check Facebook, too!

Bisous,
Sam

